1. Legal Basis

    The Office of the Administration of the Judicial Budget (the Office) has been set up in accordance with Law no. 8363, date 1.07.1998 "On the Creation of the Office of the Administration of the Judicial Budget"

    The Office responds directly to a board of judges. The composition, election procedure and competencies of such board are specified in paragraph 3.1.

    From an organisational point of view, the hierarchical line that starts from the Office ends with the Board. Nevertheless, it is plausible to maintain that further up the hierarchy, the Office responds to the Judicial Conference since this is where the board members are elected

  2. Mission and Functions of the Office

    The Office is an independent juridical person created to effectively manage the budgetary funds allocated to the judiciary as well as other funds provided by domestic or international donors.

    The functions performed by the Office are three folded:

    • planning of needs for funding and the consequent splitting up of the budgetary funds for each and every court in the country;
    • management of the extra funds provided in the form of donations in accordance with the perceived needs and priorities;
    • continuous control of the use of judicial funds by recipients.
  3. Management of the Office

    The Office is an independent state agency. A Board and a Director carry out its management.

    1. The Board of the Office - The activity of the Board is exercised in virtue of articles 6-10 of the Law no. 8363, dt. 1.7.1998.

      The Board is composed of 9 members: the President of the Supreme Court, one member of the Supreme Court elected by the meeting of all the members of this court, two Presidents of Courts of Appeals elected by the meeting of all the presidents of courts of appeals, four presidents of district courts elected by the joint meeting of all the presidents of the district courts and one representative of the Ministry of Justice. The President of the Supreme Court is the chairman of the board. The deputy chairman is elected from the ranks of its members. The mandate of all the members of the board (except for the President of the Supreme Court) is two years with the right for re-election.

      The Board of the Office has the following powers:

      • approves the draft budget presented by the Office for each court;
      • approves the transfer of the budgetary funds;
      • appoints and dismisses the Director of the Office;
      • defines the structure of the Office, the number of its staff and the criteria to be met by each candidate;
      • approves the internal rules of the Office.
    2. The Director - The Director of the Office exercises his/her activity in virtue of article 11 of the Law no. 8363, dt, 1.7.1998 and the decisions of the Board. The director is nominated by the Board of the Office through secret ballot and upon the simple majority of votes, out of a pool of candidates.

      The Director is responsible for the adequate functioning of the Office and the accomplishment of its tasks.

      The Director represents the Office in front of all government agencies, public institutions as well as third parties.

      The Director proposes to the Board short and long term policies and economic projects on the current and perspective development of the judiciary.

      The Director may present to the Board reports, materials and studies related to the mission of the Office.

      Director of the Office is Mr. Neshat Mazaj and he can be reached at the following phone numbers: 042/48666 or 042/48645.

  4. Organisational Structure of the Office

    The organisational structure of the Office is approved by the Board as envisaged in the Law no. 8363. The Office is composed of four sectors. Their organisation, functioning and duties are defined in the internal rules. Find below the organisational scheme of the Office:

Organizational scheme of the Office

[Previous] [Contents] [Next]

Institute for Policy & Legal Studies 2000